Friday, January 23, 2009

ABA's Hot Topics in Food Law - One Hour Telconference - Tuesday Feb 10th - 1pm ET - 10am PT

Hot Topics in Food Law

The American Bar Association Section of Litigation and the ABA Center for Continuing Legal Education
Tuesday, Feb. 10th
1:00 PM-2:00 PM Eastern 12:00 PM-1:00 PM Central
11:00 AM-12:00 PM Mountain 10:00 AM-11:00 AM Pacific

Program Description

From melamine in infant formula, to BPA in food packaging, to false or misleading labeling of products, food safety and marketing have been in the news. How pervasive are these food safety problems? Will the federal government expand its regulation of product labeling? How can you help your clients manage risk even if they are not currently involved in litigation? Join our expert faculty as they explore the hot issues in this embroiling field of law.

After listening to the teleconference and reading the program materials, you will be able to:

    • Discuss the melamine issues: its pervasiveness, current cases and preventive measures to stay out of the fray
    • Describe how BPA became an issue and what the real public health risk is
    • Compare the differences between FDA’s regulation of contaminants and unsafe food additives
    • Explain the differences in how products labeled “natural,” “organic,” or “sustainable” are regulated, current cases, and the growing importance of this issue
    • List action steps to prioritize risk and provide suggestions for risk management strategies

Program Faculty
Jessalyn Zeigler (Moderator), Bass, Berry & Sims, PLC, Nashville, TN
Robert E. Brackett, Ph.D, Senior Vice President and Chief Science and Regulatory Affairs Officer, Grocery Manufacturers Association
Ricardo Carvajal, Of Counsel, Hyman, Phelps, & McNamara, PC, Washington, DC
Stephen Gardner, Director of Litigation, Center for Science in the Public Interest, Dallas, TX
Sherry A. Marcouiller, Chief Counsel, Food Law, Kraft Foods Global, Inc., Northfield, IL

Registration Options click here

No comments: